It’s the time of the year when you look back and think about the best experiences of 2014. After thinking for a while I came to the conclusion that the Intel IDF 2014 in San Francisco was one of the best events this year.

The reason why I think like that is because IDF 2014 had a strong focus on IoT and I could experience one of the hobbies of my childhood: play with electronics. I could *build* an alien detector thanks to the Intel Black Belt Developer Program and the Intel Ultimate Maker Space (more info here and here) – check a few pics of my Galileo board in the following gallery:

El pase de diapositivas requiere JavaScript.

I’ll explain in another post how I built the detector using the Galileo board, the Arduino IDE and some sensors. I hope also to write some posts about coding in C++ and booting it using Windows on devices (which is compatible with Galileo Gen 2 by the way, more info here).

Please note that Intel are running IoT roadshows happening around the globe. I’d really enjoy seeing more of these IoT events happening in Dublin and Bogota.

Cheers and happy new year!

Javier Andrés Cáceres Alvis

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional – MVP

Intel Black Belt Software Developer